T’s for Texas.

Last night I went to see Josh T Pearson at the Bodega in Nottingham  I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in thinking it one of the best gigs I’ve ever been to at that great little venue, probably one of the best gigs I’ve been to ever.

I’d never heard of Josh T Pearson but I saw the poster for the gig and I was particularly taken by his beard and his hat.  Unless the beard and hat did it for everyone in the just about sell-out crowd then there are plenty of others who have heard of him.   Maybe they have his new album ‘Last of the Country Gentlemen’ and they knew what to expect.

I didn’t have a clue but as blind tastings go this one was sweet, sweet, sweet.

Josh played to a silent room save for the air conditioning and one forgotten-to mute phone.  There were lots of closed eyes and very broad smiles as one guy with one guitar captivated us all.  He played loudly, he played quietly, he made us laugh heartily and he broke our silence during his encore when he persuaded (almost) all of us to ‘leave our cool outside’ and to join him in a repeating singalong chorus that we belted out, as he asked us to, like when we sing alone with no-one to hear us.  Quite simply brilliant.

And what does the T stand for?  “Texas of course.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

